July 25, 26, 28, 29

Excerpts from DANCING SPIRIT

(2009, new production 2023)
Choreography by Ronald K. Brown
Rehearsal Associates: Arcell Cabuag, Matthew Rushing
Music by Radiohead and War
Costumes by Omotayo Wunmi Olaiya
Lighting by Clifton Taylor

Happy Birthday, Judith Jamison!

Hannah Alissa Richardson, Jacquelin Harris, Yazzmeen Laidler, Deidre Rogan, Solomon Dumas, Christopher Taylor, Michael Jackson, Jr., Christopher R. Wilson, Patrick Coker (July 25, 28)

Constance Stamatiou, Sarah Daley-Perdomo, Khalia Campbell, Ashley Kaylynn Green, Yannick Lebrun, Jermaine Terry, Chalvar Monteiro, Renaldo Maurice, Xavier Mack (July 26, 29)

Generous support for the creation of *Dancing Spirit* was received from Dr. Crawford Parker and the Kansas City Friends of Alvin Ailey through the generosity of its donors.

Fabric dyeing of costumes by Shayee Awoyom.

Ronald K. Brown is an advocate for the growth of the African American dance community and uses movement as a way to acquaint audiences with the beauty of traditional African forms and rhythms. Mr. Brown founded Brooklyn-based Evidence, A Dance Company in 1985 and has also set works on Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, Ailey II, Cleo Parker Robinson Ensemble, Dayton Contemporary Dance Company, Jennifer Muller/The Works, Jeune Ballet d'Afrique Noire, Ko-Thi Dance Company, Philadanco and others. Mr. Brown choreographed Regina Taylor's award-winning play, *Crowns*, for which he won an AUDELCO Award. In addition, he has received a John Guggenheim Memorial Fellowship, a National Endowment for the Arts Choreographers Fellowship, a New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship and a United States Artists Fellowship, among others.

"Everything In Its Right Place" performed by the Vitamin String Quartet, © T. Yorke, E. O'Brien, C. Greenwood, P. Selway and J. Greenwood, courtesy of Warner/Chappell Music LTD (Performing Rights Society). All rights administered by WB Music Corp. "Flying Machine (The Chase)" written by Thomas Sylvester Allen; Harold Brown; Morris Dickerson; LeRoy L Jordan; Lee Oskar Levitin; Charles W. Miller; Howard E. Scott. Published by BMG Gold Songs (ASCAP) obo Far Out Music Inc (ASCAP) Used by permission. All rights reserved.