

Rockford Area Convention & Visitors Bureau April 28, 2021 Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Via Zoom

**Board Present:** Chad Anderson, David Anderson, Nathan Bryant, Todd Cagnoni, Patricia Diduch, Daniel Fellers, Jennifer Furst, Kevin Frost, John Groh, Jennifer Furst, Carol Schuster, Tiana McCall, Ted Rehl, John Penny, Darrell Snorke.

Board Absent: Jay Sandine, Einar Forsman, Nathan Bruck, Marcus Bacon, Bryan Davis.

Staff Present: Martesha Brown, Joanne Nold, Lindsay Arellano, Kristen Paul, Kara Davis.

Guest: Pat Thompson

**Call to Order:** The meeting was called to order at 7:33 a.m. by Jennifer Furst. There was not a quarrum present so welcome of guest Pat Thompton. Quarrum at 7:38 a.m. and the meeting began.

## Approval of Meeting Minutes:

It was moved and seconded to approve the March 24, 2021 meeting minutes. Motion carried.

## Internal Monitoring Reports:

After discussion, it was moved, seconded and approved to accept the Internal Monitoring Reports, including John Groh's CEO Interpretations, for monitoring on:

- 1.2 Enhance Tourism Product,
- 2.1 Treatment of Customers & Partners,
- 2.3 Financial Planning/Budgeting and
- 2.4 Financial Condition & Activities

## CEO Report:

John reminded everyone about the newly elected official reception. He also noted the TTID is very close to being publically rolled out with good support from hotels. CRE8IV 2021- committee is working thru the artist applications and funding is still being confirmed-in late May there should be a public announcement via news conference. ICCVB will be at Embassy May 18 & 19 with a dinner at Anderson Gardens-Lenord Hoops will be a special guest speaker so please let staff know if you would like to attend any sessions. Industry experts are saying there will be a long recovery and convention travel will return 2023/2024 while leisure travel has pint up demand. Outdoor recreational activities will be important with covid recover strategies.

## Governance Process:

It was moved by the Board Development Committee to elect the followingto serve as an officer, each serving a one-year term, beginning at the conclusion of the June 2021 meeting and concluding June 2022. Motion carried.

- Chair: Jennifer Furst
- Vice Chair: John Penney
- Treasurer: Carol Schuster
- Secretary: Tianna McCall

It was moved by the Board Development Committee to elect to elect the following to serve an additional (2nd) three-year term, beginning at the June 2021 meeting and concluding June 2024. Motion carried

• Nathan Bruck, City of Loves Park

NEW: The following individuals are recommended to serve a three-year term, beginning at the June 2021 meeting and oncluding in June 2024:

- Dana Martin, Talent Acquisition Manager, Rosecrance Health Network
- Ricardo Montoya-Picazo, Chief of Staff, Office of State Representative Dave Vella
- Pat Thompson, County Administrator, Winnebago County
- Shelton Kay, Vice President Communicty Services, Crusader Community Health

EX-OFFICIO: The following member's term has expired. However, the committee desires to see him remain active and on the board as the immediate past Board Chair. As such, it is recommended to create, in accordance with the Bylaws, a non-voting ex-officio seat for the Past Chair and appoint the following to a one-year term in this role.

• David Anderson

Retiring: The following member's term is expiring. Having served two consecutive terms, the member is not eligible for an additional term. As such, he will depart the board following the June meeting.

• Bryan Davis

RACVB FOUNDATION: The following individuals are recommended to serve a two-year term, beginning at the June 2021 meeting and concluding in June 2023.

- Mustafa Abdall, Director, Winnebago Emerging Small Business Association
- Rebecca Francis, Entrepreneur
- Marco Lenis (returning)
- Darrell Snorek (returning)

The board adjourned at 8:35 a.m.

The next meeting is Wednesday, Next Board Meeting: June 28, 2021 7:30 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Einar Forsman, Board Secretary kd