

Rockford Area Convention & Visitors Bureau April 27, 2022 Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Board Present: Chad Anderson, David Anderson, Todd Cagnoni, Patricia Diduch, Jennifer Furst, Kevin Frost, John Groh, Jennifer Furst, Tiana McCall, Mick Gronewold, Darrell Snorek, Jay Sandine, Shelton Kay, Einar Forsman, Pat Thompson, Therese Thill.

Board Absent: Carol Schuster, John Penney, Nathan Bruck, Marcus Bacon, Ted Rehl, Dana Martin & Ricardo Montoya-Picazo.

Staff Present: Joanne Nold, Kristen Paul & Julie Huber

Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 7:33 a.m. by Jennifer Furst. Therese Thill, was welcomed to the board. Therese is the newly appointed president of RAEDC and will be joining the board along with Caitlyn Pusatri, the newly appointed president of the Rockford Chamber. Einar Foresman was thanked for his 20+ years of service.

Approval of Meeting Minutes:

It was moved and seconded to approve the March 30, 2022 meeting minutes. Motion carried.

Internal Monitoring Reports:

After discussion, it was moved, seconded and approved to accept the Internal Monitoring Reports, including John Groh's CEO Interpretations, for monitoring on:

- 1.2 Enhance Tourism Product,
- 2.1 Treatment of Customers & Partners,
- 2.3 Financial Planning/Budgeting and
- 2.4 Financial Condition & Activities

Governance Process:

Upon the recoemdnation of the Board Aduit Committee, following brief discussion, the board approved Benning Group as the external auditor for an additional three years. They will be contracted for three years for the FY22, FY23 and FY24 audits. Motion passed unanimously.

It was moved and seconded that ammendments to the Bylaws be accepted as presented. This includes reducing the number of meetings required per year from 8 to 6 and adjusts voting member composition requirements. Motion passed unanimously, without discussion.

It was moved by the Board Development Committee to elect, in one slate the following:

OFFICERS: The following individuals are recommended to serve as an officer, each serving a oneyear term, beginning at the conclusion of the June 2022 meeting and concluding June 2023.

- Chair: Carol Schuster
- Vice Chair: Tiana McCall
- Treasurer: Chad Anderson
- Secretary: Darrell Snorek

RETURNING: The following individual is recommended to serve an <u>additional</u> (2nd) three-year term, beginning at the June 2022 meeting and concluding June 2025.

- Carol Schuster, University of Illinois College of Medicine
- Darrell Snorek, LaMonica Beverages

NEW: The following individuals are recommended to serve a three-year term, beginning at the June 2022 meeting and concluding in June 2025.

- 1. Bobbie Holzwarth, attorney & partner, HolmstromKennedy
- 2. Geno lafrate, president, Hard Rock Rockford
- 3. Richard Shuga, field organizer, Painters District Council No. 30/Local 607

Expired Terms: The following member's term is expiring. Having served two consecutive terms, the member is not eligible for an additional term. As such, he will depart the board following the June meeting.

1. Marcus Bacon

Additional Action Needed:

- Accept the resignation of John Penney, effective at the conclusion of the June meeting.
- Appoint Nathan Bruck, City of Loves Park, as a non-voting liaison to the board.
- Accept Therese Thill, RAEDC president, as an ex-officio voting member.
- Accept Caitlin Pusateri, Rkfd. Chamber president, as an ex-officio voting member.

The motion passed unanimously.

The resolution of accepting 310 S Winnebago was discussed in detail. It was determined that a building is needed, however additional information is needed by the board to determine if this is the best option available. A joint board meeting of the RACVB Board and the Foundation Board was scheduled for May 25, 2022 at 7:30 a.m.

The board adjourned at 9:12 a.m.

The next meeting is Wednesday, Next Board Meeting: May 25, 2022 at 7:30 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Tiana McCall, Board Secretary kp