

EIGHTY-NINTH COMMENCEMENT AND CONFERRING OF DEGREES

The Church of the Holy Trinity
Rittenhouse Square
Saturday, May 14, 2022
11 a.m.

THE STAR-SPANGLED BANNER

O, say, can you see,
By the dawn's early light,
What so proudly we hailed
At the twilight's last gleaming,
Whose broad stripes and bright stars,
Through the perilous fight,
O'er the ramparts we watched
Were so gallantly streaming?
And the rockets' red glare,
The bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night
That our flag was still there.
O, say, does that star-spangled banner yet wave
O'er the land of the free
And the home of the brave?

MARSHALS

Daniel Benedict Sofia Gilchenok Evan Gray Yizilin Liang Dalia Medovnikov Oliver Talukder

ORDER OF CEREMONY

PRELUDE

Monument

BRENDA PORTMAN (b. 1980)

PROCESSIONAL

Cycle of Processionals

DAVID N. JOHNSON (Organ '42) (1922-1987)

Thomas Sheehan (Organ '14)

NATIONAL ANTHEM

"The Star-Spangled Banner"

ADDRESSES

Introduced by Roberto Díaz (Viola '84), president and chief executive officer

Claire Thai, graduating student

Tania León, composer

CONFERRAL OF HONRARY DEGREES

Deborah M. Fretz, chair, board of trustees Roberto Díaz (Viola '84), president and chief executive officer

Doctor of Music (Honoris Causa)

Tania León Ruth Slenczynska

PRESENTATION OF AWARDS AND PRIZES

Jeanne M. McGinn, Ph.D., senior associate dean of academics, Ruth W. and A. Morris Williams Jr. Chair of Liberal Arts Jonathan Coopersmith, chair of musical studies Mary Javian (Double Bass '99), chair of career studies Patricia Carpino, senior associate dean of student affairs Edward Gazouleas (Viola '84), Gie and Lisa Liem Artistic Director Paul Bryan (Trombone '93), dean

Joan Hutton Landis Award for Excellence in Academics

Named for emerita faculty member Joan Hutton Landis, who, as chair of the Liberal Arts Department for 24 years, was an inspiring teacher, mentor, and avid supporter of young musicians' careers.

Aaron Charles Patterson (Organ)

Edward Aldwell Award for Excellence in Music Studies

Established in honor of Edward Aldwell (1938–2006), a brilliant performing artist, master teacher, and gifted author of music textbooks, who served on the Curtis musical studies faculty for 35 years.

Matthew B. Hakkarainen (Violin)

Dean's Award for Achievement in Career Studies

The Curtis Career Studies curriculum builds skills necessary for 21st-century careers in music. The Dean's Award for Achievement in Career Studies recognizes outstanding work in entrepreneurship and community-based projects.

Alan Douglas Tolbert (Trumpet)

Dean's Award for Outstanding Citizenship

The Dean's Award for Outstanding Citizenship recognizes graduating students who have contributed to the Curtis community through their integrity, compassion, involvement, responsibility, and respectfulness.

David Schonberger (Bass Trombone)

Charles Miller Prize: The Fritz Kreisler Award

Created by longtime Curtis patron Charles Miller to honor outstanding musicians through named prizes—the Fritz Kreisler Award for violin, the Sergei Rachmaninoff Award for piano, and the Alfredo Casella Award for composition—awarded on a rotating basis to students who have excelled in these areas.

Matthew B. Hakkarainen (Violin)

Milka Violin Artist Prize

Supported by Georges Markow-Totevy and the Markow-Totevy Foundation in memory of Milka Markow-Totevy to recognize a graduating violinist committed to participating in international violin competitions during the year after graduation.

Emma Carina Meinrenken (Violin)

Angelo Sylvestro Festorazzi Scholarship

Established by the estate of Marguerite Festorazzi to recognize promising voice students.

Lindsey Reynolds (Opera) (in absentia)

Mehlin Prize

Established by the estate of Marguerite Festorazzi to recognize promising piano students.

Tianxu An (Piano)

The Presser Foundation Undergraduate Scholar Award

Supported by the Presser Foundation, the Undergraduate Scholar Award recognizes the outstanding achievements of a student preparing to enter their final year of undergraduate studies.

Subin Lee (Harp)

INTERLUDE

Variations on a Theme by Ellie

TREVOR WESTON (b. 1967)

Thomas Sheehan (Organ '14)

AWARDING OF DIPLOMAS AND CONFERRING OF DEGREES IN COURSE

Roberto Díaz (Viola '84), president and chief executive officer Paul Bryan (Trombone '93), dean Assisted by Patricia Carpino, senior associate dean of student affairs and Meredith Tarditi, associate dean of student life and international student affairs

Certificate

Voice

Charles Buttigieg

Diploma

Piano

Aimi Kobayashi (in absentia)

Flute

Jihoo Yu (in absentia)

Post-Baccalaureate Diploma

Conducting

Robert Kahn

Violin

Cherry Choi Tung Yeung

Viola

Keoni Bolding (in absentia)

Cello

Jiyeon Kim

John Francis Lee

Double Bass

Markus Lang (in absentia)

Trumpet

Alan Douglas Tolbert

Tuba

Cristina Cutts Dougherty (in absentia)

Community Artist Fellows

Justin Goldsmith (in absentia)

Ying Li (in absentia)

Grace Ai Takeda

Bachelor of Music

Composition

Aiyana Braun ('20)

Alistair John Coleman

Voice

Colin Aikins

Merissa Beddows (in absentia)

Hannah Elisabeth Klein ('21)

Sophia Maekawa

Organ, Certificate in Harpsichord Performance

Aaron Charles Patterson

Piano

Tianxu An

Janice Carissa

Wei Luo (in absentia)

Szuyu Su ('21)

Ray Ushikubo

Zitong Wang

Jiacheng Xiong ('20)

Guitar

Kaiieng Chan ('20)

Xu-Kun (Alan) Liu

Hao Yang (in absentia)

Violin

I-hao Cheng

Karisa Chiu

Matthew B. Hakkarainen

Gawon Kim

Haram Kim

Sumin Kim ('21)

Emma Carina Meinrenken

Emily Kaye Shehi ('21)

Takumi C. Taguchi

Ray Ushikubo

Jinyoung Yoon

Viola

Soyoung Cho

Kathryn Rebecca Epperson ('20)

Ming-Yu Hsu

Double Bass

William Thomas McGregor

Gabriel Polinsky

Harp

Claire Thai

Flute

Naomi Elizabeth Sarah Ford

Calvin Mayman Fuki Wang

Oboe

Mekhi Gladden

Jamison Ardain Hillian

Kip Zimmerman ('20)

Clarinet

Sara Seungmin Han

Yan Liu ('20)

Yuhsin Galaxy Su

Bassoon

Rachael Lee

Thomas Roy-Rochette

Horn

Andrew D. Stump

Trumpet Justin Bernardi Sarah Jessen

Bass Trombone David Schonberger

Timpani and Percussion Sijia Huang ('20) Irene Yoonseo Kang

Master of Music

Opera

Ethan Edmund Burck
Sage DeAgro-Ruopp (in absentia)
Ruby Dibble
Sophia Hunt (in absentia)
Thomas Petrushka (in absentia)
Lindsey Reynolds (in absentia)
Anastasiia Sidorova
Joseph Tancredi
Patrick Wilhelm (in absentia)

WELCOME TO THE NEW ALUMNI

Solomiya Ivakhiv (Violin '03)

CLOSING REMARKS

Roberto Díaz (Viola '84), president and chief executive officer

RECESSIONAL Toccata Festiva, Op. 921

CARSON COOMAN (b. 1982)

Thomas Sheehan (Organ '14)

