

# NINETY-FIRST COMMENCEMENT AND CONFERRING OF DEGREES

Field Concert Hall Saturday, May 11, 2024 11 a.m.

# ORDER OF CEREMONY

**PRELUDE** 

Prelude in E-flat major, BWV 552/1

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH (1685-1750)

PROCESSIONAL
PHOENIX Processional

DAN LOCKLAIR (b. 1949)

Andrew Senn (Organ '00)

#### **ADDRESSES**

Introduced by Roberto Díaz (Viola '84), president and chief executive officer

Kahlan Yenney, graduating student Oliver Talukder, graduating student

George Lewis, composer

#### CONFERRAL OF HONORARY DEGREES

Anthony B. Creamer III, member, board of trustees Roberto Díaz (Viola '84), president and chief executive officer

# Doctor of Music (Honoris Causa)

George Lewis

#### PRESENTATION OF AWARDS AND PRIZES

Eva Swidler, interim chair of liberal arts Jonathan Coopersmith, chair of musical studies

Mary Javian (Double Bass '99), chair of career studies

Patricia Carpino, senior associate dean of student affairss

Edward Gazouleas (Viola '84), Gie and Lisa Liem Artistic Director and provost

Amy Yang (Piano '06), associate dean of piano studies and artistic initiatives

Daniel Matsukawa (Bassoon '92), faculty

Nick DiBerardino (Composition '18, Community Artist Fellow '19), dean, chair of composition studies

#### Joan Hutton Landis Award for Excellence in Academics

Named for emerita faculty member Joan Hutton Landis, who, as chair of the Liberal Arts Department for 24 years, was an inspiring teacher, mentor, and avid supporter of young musicians' careers.

Alexander Leonardi (Organ)

#### Edward Aldwell Award for Excellence in Musical Studies

Established in honor of Edward Aldwell (1938–2006), a brilliant performing artist, master teacher, and gifted author of music textbooks, who served on the Curtis musical studies faculty for 35 years.

Tobias Matthew Vigneau (Double Bass)

#### Provost's Award for Achievement in Career Studies

The Curtis Career Studies curriculum builds skills necessary for 21st-century careers in music. The Provost's Award for Achievement in Career Studies recognizes outstanding work in entrepreneurship and community-based projects.

Chi Chun Adrian Wong (Composition)

### Provost's Award for Outstanding Citizenship

The Provost's Award for Outstanding Citizenship recognizes graduating students who have contributed to the Curtis community through their integrity, compassion, involvement, responsibility, and respectfulness.

Leigha Amick (Composition)

#### Milka Violin Artist Prize

Supported by Georges Markow-Totevy and the Markow-Totevy Foundation in memory of Milka Markow-Totevy to recognize a graduating violinist committed to participating in international violin competitions during the year after graduation.

Lingyu Dong (Violin)

# Angelo Sylvestro Festorazzi Scholarship

Established by the estate of Marguerite Festorazzi to recognize promising voice students.

Erik J Tofte (Opera)

#### Mehlin Prize

Established by the estate of Marguerite Festorazzi to recognize promising piano students.

Avery Gagliano (Piano)

# Hunter, Johnson, and Vernon Woodwind Prize

Created by Curtis alumna Marsha Hunter (Voice '77), her husband Brian Johnson, and longtime Curtis patrons Dr. Thomas and Mrs. Patricia Vernon, the Hunter, Johnson, and Vernon Woodwind Prize honors an outstanding woodwind musician as selected by the woodwind faculty.

Asha Kline (Bassoon)

#### Charles Miller Prize: The Alfredo Casella Award

Created by longtime Curtis patron Charles Miller to honor outstanding musicians through named prizes—the Fritz Kreisler Award for violin, the Sergei Rachmaninoff Award for piano, and the Alfredo Casella Award for composition—awarded on a rotating basis to students who have excelled in these areas.

Maya Miro Johnson (Composition)

#### The Presser Scholar Award

Through the generosity of the Presser Foundation, the Scholar Award recognizes the outstanding achievements of a graduating student who exemplifies high academic and musical accomplishment, leadership, and citizenship.

Oliver J. Talukder (Oboe)

#### **INTERLUDE**

Chaconne

**ORPHA OCHSE** 

(b. 1925)

Andrew Senn (Organ '00)

# AWARDING OF DIPLOMAS AND CONFERRING OF DEGREES IN COURSE

Roberto Díaz (Viola '84), president and chief executive officer Nick DiBerardino (Composition '18, Community Artist Fellow '19), dean, chair of composition studies

Assisted by Paul Bryan (Trombone '93), director of assessment and accreditation

#### Certificate

Opera

Morgan-Andrew King Erik J Tofte

Viola

Chih-Ta Chen (in absentia)

# **Diploma**

Violin

Michael Shaham (in absentia)

Trombone

Diogo da Costa Fernandes

# Post-Baccalaureate Diploma

Conducting

Micah Gleason

Violin

Dongyoung Shim (in absentia)

Viola

Haneul Park

# **Bachelor of Music**

Composition

Maya Miro Johnson

Organ

Alexander Leonardi

Piano

Elias Ackerley (in absentia)

Avery Gagliano

Anton Mejias

Violin

Lingyu Dong

Yesong Sophie Lee (in absentia)

Viola

Sofia Gilchenok

Cello

Matthew Christakos

Nygel Francis Witherspoon

**Double Bass** 

Jason Henery

Tobias Matthew Vigneau

Oboe

Cameron Slaton (in absentia)

Oliver J. Talukder

Clarinet

Yejin Ahn

Bassoon Asha Kline Kahlan Elizabeth Yenney

Trumpet Raúl Orellana

Trombone Derek Gullett

# Master of Music

Composition Leigha Amick Chi Chun Adrian Wong

Violin Gawon Kim

Viola Soyoung Cho

Double Bass William Thomas McGregor

Harp Claire Thai

Trumpet Justin Bernardi

Tuba Ethan Marmolejos

Timpani and Percussion Tae McLoughlin

#### WELCOME TO THE NEW ALUMNI

Yumi Kendall (Cello '04)

#### **CLOSING REMARKS**

Roberto Díaz (Viola '84), president and chief executive officer

#### **RECESSIONAL**

Episcopal March, from Three Improvisations

LOUIS VIERNE (1870-1937)

#### **POSTLUDE**

Fugue in E-flat major ("St. Anne"), BWV 552/2

J. S. BACH

Andrew Senn (Organ '00)

# **MARSHALS**

Dasara Beta Christopher Correa Gabriel Nishikawa Christine Ott Diego Peña Anastasia Samsel

