# Metropolitan Area of the Aburrá Valley

Population — Country — ----→ Colombia **Country** — Colombia **World Region** — South America → 1.166km2



#### Context

The Metropolitan Area of the Aburrá Valley, formed by Medellín and nine surrounding municipalities, is the first legally established metropolitan entity in Colombia. It leads in transportation systems, sustainable urban planning, and environmental conservation, including innovative strategies for air quality improvement and climate change adaptation.



## **Economic profile**

GDP AS % OF NATIONAL GDP 10%

WORLD BANK INCOME GROUP Upper-middle income

GDP PER CAPITA 21,945 USD

Major economic activities: Commerce, food services industry, manufacturing, personal services, real estate, transport, construction, finance, electricity, agriculture, and

Own source revenues: Environmental surcharge, municipal contributions, fees and fines, services revenue.



### Governance structure

YEAR OF CONSTITUTION 1980

TYPE OF METROPOLITAN GOVERNMENT Metropolitan government

Legal framework: The 1968 Constitutional Reform and 1991 Constitution established autonomous metropolitan areas for development and public service coordination. Law 1625 of 2013 defines their functions, while Ordinance 034 of 1980 created the Metropolitan Area of Valle de Aburrá.

Administrative structure: The Metropolitan Board (Junta Metropolitana), comprising Medellín's mayor (metropolitan mayor), Antioquia's governor, municipal mayors, and council representatives, is the decision-making body for the Aburrá Valley Metropolitan Area under an indirect election model.

Annual revenue, expenditure and sources: The total revenue amounts to \$396.5 million USD. Key sources include taxes such as the environmental surcharge, municipal contributions, debt financing for infrastructure projects, asset monetisation, co-financing through grants and partnerships, and revenue from newly introduced activities aligned with legal mandates. Total expenditure stands at 363.2 million

Number and type of administrative units: 10 municipalities.



## **Service** Key strategic plans



**Integrated** <u>Metropolitan</u> **Development Plan**  RESILIENCE

**Action Plan for Climate Change and Variability** 

INNOVATION

Action Plan 2019-2030

GENDER

Metropolitan Agreements



