

INTERNATIONAL SKI FEDERATION

Blochstrasse 2 3653 Oberhofen/Thunersee Switzerland Tel +41 33 244 61 61 Fax +41 33 244 61 71

FOR MORE INFORMATION Riikka Rakic FIS Communications Manager Mobile: + 41 79 64 34 281 E-Mail: rakic@fisski.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

FIS MEDIA INFO

Appointment of FIS Council Vice Presidents and Treasurer, FIS Committee Chairmen and Honorary Members

Oberhofen, May 29th, 2006 -- The 45th International Ski Congress has concluded successfully in Vilamoura (POR). In its first meeting following election at the General Assembly on Friday, May 26th, the new FIS Council elected the vice presidents and treasurer, and appointed the chairmen and members of the FIS Committees for the upcoming two-year period (2006-2008). The 46th International Ski Congress will take place in Cape Town (RSA) in the spring of 2008.

FIS Council Appointments

Vice Presidents

- Yoshiro Ito (JPN)
- Bill Marolt (USA)
- Carl Eric Stålberg (SWE)
- Leonid Tyagachev (RUS, new)

Treasurer

• Fritz Wagnerberger (GER)

Committee Chairmen

Cross-Country

- Vegard Ulvang (NOR, **new**) Cross-Country Committee
- Midori Koyama Poppe (JPN, new) Sub-Committee for Ladies Cross-Country
- Karl-Heinz Lickert (GER) Subcommittee for Rules and Control (ICR)
- Tiit Pekk (EST) Subcommittee for World and Continental Cups
- Luke Bodensteiner (USA, new) Sub-Committee for Popular Cross Country
- Jean-Pierre Cochet (FRA) Sub-Committee for Roller Skiing

Ski Jumping

- Jouko Törmänen (FIN) Ski Jumping Committee
- Wolfgang Happle (GER) Sub-Committee Jumping Hills
- Paul Ganzenhuber (AUT) Sub-Committee Calendar Planning
- Ueli Forrer (SUI) Sub-Committee for Officials, Rules and Control



• Bertil Palsrud (NOR) – Sub-Committee for Equipment and Development

Nordic Combined

• Harald Aarhus (NOR) – Nordic Combined Committee

Alpine Skiing

- Toni Sailer (AUT) Alpine Skiing Committee
- Helmut Adams (ITA) Sub-Committee for Classification of Alpine Competitors
- Jana Gantnerova (SVK) Sub-Committee for Ladies' Alpine Skiing
- Walter Trilling (FRA) Sub-Committee for Alpine Courses
- Christian Poley (AUT) Sub-Committee for Rules and Control (ICR)
- Stig Ove Gustafsson (SWE) Sub-Committee for Alpine TDs
- Erich Demetz (ITA) Sub-Committee for Alpine World Cup
- Oskar Fischer (GER) Sub-Committee for Intercontinental Cups
- Dieter Posch (AUT) Sub-Committee for European Cup
- Claude Savard (CAN, **new**) Sub-Committee for Nor-Am Cup
- David Howden (NZE) Sub-Committee for Australia New Zealand Cup
- Toshimasa Furukawa (JPN) Sub-Committee for Far East Cup
- Stefano Pirola (CHI) Sub-Committee for South American Cup

Freestyle Skiing

- Chris Robinson (CAN) Committee for Freestyle Skiing
- Marko Mustonen (FIN, new) Sub-Committee for Freestyle Rules and Officials (Please note change of Committee name)

Snowboard

• William Slattery (USA) – Committee for Snowboard

Speed Skiing

• Dick Taplin (GBR, **new**) – Speed Skiing Committee

Telemark Skiing

• Anthony Favre (FRA) – Telemark Skiing Committee

Grass Skiing

• Jiri Russwurm (CZE) – Grass Skiing Committee

Special Committees

- Aki Murasato (JPN) Committee for Competition Equipment
- Karl Heinz Klee (AUT) Legal and Safety Committee
- Hubert Hörterer (GER, new) Medical Committee
- Paul Michaelides (CYP) Committee for Recreational Skiing
- Howard Peterson (USA) Committee for Advertising Matters
- Tom Kelly (USA, new) Public Relations and Media Committee
- Heinz Maurer (SUI) Committee for Racers with Special Qualifications
- Urs-Peter Dietrich (SUI) Sub-Committee for Alpine Citizen Racers



- Germaine Carriere (FRA) Sub-Committee for Corporate Racers
- Kirsten Lehmann (DAN) Sub-Committee Cross-Country for Lowlanders and Citizen Racers
- Urs Schüpbach (SUI, new) Sub-Committee for University Racers
- Harald Herbert (AUT) Sub-Committee for Masters Racing
- Rita van Driel (NED) Sub-Committee for Skiers with a Disability

Please note that instead of a general Committee for Youth and Children's Questions, the Council decided to form Sub-Committees for Youth and Children's Questions in the disciplines of Cross-Country Skiing and Alpine Skiing, and eventually also in Ski Jumping and Snowboarding. The National Ski Associations are invited to submit proposals for the various sub-committees by 15th September 2006.

FIS Court

• Anton Ribnikar (SLO)

The full list of Committee members will be available from the FIS web site shortly.

Honorary Members

The FIS Congress unanimously appointed Anatolij Akentiev (RUS) as Honorary Member of FIS.

The former and the new Council appointed the following Honorary Members of FIS Committees in recognition of their outstanding service:

- Peter Petricek (SLO), Honorary Member of the Cross-Country Committee
- Barry Bunshoft (USA), Honorary Member of the Legal Committee
- Hans Kaspar Stiffler (SUI), Honorary Member of the Legal Committee
- Elisabeth Hussey (GBR), Honorary Member of the PR and Media Committee
- Kalevi Häkkinen (FIN), Honorary Member of the Speed Skiing Committee
- Patrick Field (GBR), Honorary Member of the Sub-Committee for Popular Cross-Country Skiing
- Laura Gaja des Ambrois (ITA), Honorary Member of the Sub-Committee for Ladies Alpine Skiing
- Ladislav Harvan (SVK), Honorary Member of the Sub-Committee for Alpine Courses

About FIS

Founded in 1924 during the first Olympic Games in Chamonix, France, the International Ski Federation (FIS) aims to promote the sport of skiing and snowboarding and directs the development of all ski and snowboarding activities world-wide. FIS administers the Olympic disciplines of Alpine Skiing, Cross-Country Skiing, Ski Jumping, Nordic Combined, Freestyle Skiing and Snowboarding, including setting the international competition rules. With the help of its 112 member nations (one currently suspended), it stages more than 6'000 ski and snowboard competitions annually. FIS also makes recommendations for recreational skiing and snowboarding in the interest of all and promotes play in the snow as a healthy leisure activity for children and the youth. For more information, please visit<u>www.fis-ski.com</u>.

