Composer Institute History

ABOUT THE MINNESOTA ORCHESTRA COMPOSER INSTITUTE

The Minnesota Orchestra Composer Institute, now celebrating the 20th anniversary of its debut in March 2002, grew from the Orchestra's Perfect Pitch program, an annual series of new music reading sessions for emerging Minnesota composers launched during the 1995–96 season in collaboration with the American Composers Forum. In 2002 the program was reformulated as the Composer Institute and opened to composers from across the country, Pulitzer Prize-winner Aaron Jay Kernis became its director, and the program added seminars with industry leaders and Orchestra musicians, mentoring and other activities. In 2006, the Orchestra added a public Future Classics concert, now called MusicMakers, conducted by Music Director Osmo Vänskä, as the Institute's capstone. Pulitzer Prize-winner Kevin Puts is now in his eighth season as the Institute's director.

The program's influence has spread throughout the music world via the success of participants such as 2004 alumnus Andrew Norman, winner of the 2017 Grawemeyer Award and a finalist for the 2019 Pulitzer Prize for Music; 2006 alumnus Anna Clyne, a 2015 Grammy nominee; fellow 2006 alumnus Missy Mazzoli, a trailblazer in the field of contemporary opera; and film and TV composer Trevor Gureckis, a 2007 alumnus whose recent projects include scoring the 2021 M. Night Shyamalan movie Old and the current Apple TV+ series Servant. In 2018 both of the finalists for the Pulitzer Prize for Music were past Institute participants: 2016 alumnus Michael Gilbertson and 2008 alumnus Ted Hearne; in 2021 Hearne was again a Pulitzer finalist. At the 2022 Grammy Awards, violinist Jennifer Koh won the award for Best Classical Instrumental Solo for an album that included short works by 40 contemporary composers, 10 of whom are past or present Composer Institute participants, among them 2022 participants Adelija Faizullina and Nina Shekhar.

Several past Composer Institute participants have subsequently fostered connections with other Minnesota ensembles. The Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra, which is conducted by William Schrickel, the Minnesota Orchestra's assistant principal bass, has commissioned two alumni to each compose their first symphony: 2010 participant Polina Nazaykinskaya and 2015 participant Matthew Peterson; the latter's Symphony No. 1: *The Singing Wilderness* was co-commissioned with the St. Olaf Orchestra and Northern Symphony Orchestra, and will be performed by the MSO in its 2022–23 season. The MSO also commissioned and premiered Nazaykinskaya's large-orchestra revision of *Fenix* and has performed three additional works by her in the years since she participated in the Institute, all with Schrickel conducting.

PERFECT PITCH (ORIGINAL INCARNATION OF THE COMPOSER INSTITUTE)

1995-96 SEASON

Carol Barnett
Keith M. Bradshaw
Thomas E. Fitch
Randall Stokes
Paul A. Suskind
David Evan Thomas

1996-97 SEASON

Michael Karmon Russell Platt David Schober David Evan Thomas Michael Wittgraf

1997-98 SEASON

Anthony Gatto Melissa M. Hannah David Schober Michael Wittgraf

1998-99 SEASON

Erika Foin
Philip Fried
Peter Lothringer
Nathaniel Riley
Mark Warhol
Carl Witt

1999-2000 SEASON

Anthony Gatto Geoffrey Gordon Brian J. Nelson Paul Paccione Justin Henry Rubin

2000-01 SEASON

James F. Crowley Stacy Garrop Michael Klingbeil Mei-Fang Lin Rich Pressley Justin Henry Rubin

MINNESOTA ORCHESTRA COMPOSER INSTITUTE

2001-02 SEASON

Gordon Beeferman Lisa Bielawa Anthony Cheung Stacy Garrop Michael Gatonska Keith Murphy Stephan Prock Mischa Zupko

2002-03 SEASON

Todd Coleman Christopher Dietz Lu Pei Russell Platt Erich Stem Nathan Stumpff Michael Twomey Orianna Webb

2003-04 SEASON

Anthony Cheung Philip Fried Michael Gatonska Gregory Hutter Mark Koval Robert Paterson William A. Ware

2004-05 SEASON

Patrick Burke
Fang Man
Andrew Norman
John Christian Orfe
David Plylar
Sheridan Seyfried
Rob Smith

Composer Institute History

2005-06 SEASON

J. Anthony Allen Mark Dancigers Matthew Fields Ed Martin Norbert Palej

Sean Shepherd Reynold Tharp

Zhou Tian

2006-07 SEASON

Garrett Byrnes Anna Clyne Kurt Erickson Stephen Gorbos Missy Mazzoli Ashley Nail Alejandro Rutty Dan Visconti

2007-08 SEASON

Gregg Wramage

Daniel Bradshaw Jacob Cooper Trevor Gureckis Wes Matthews Elliott Miles McKinley Xi Wang Stephen Wilcox

2008-09 SEASON

Antonio Carlos DeFeo Ted Hearne Wang Lu Andrew McManus Justin Merritt David Schneider Ming-Hsiu Yen

2009-10 SEASON

Fernando Buide Geoff Knorr Angel Lam Kathryn Salfelder Carl Schimmel Spencer Topel Roger Zare

2010-11 SEASON

Taylor Brizendine Wang Jie Polina Nazaykinskaya Clint Needham Ben Phelps Narong Prangcharoen

2011-12 SEASON

David Weaver

Brian Ciach Michael R. Holloway Adrian Knight Hannah Lash Andreia Pinto-Correia Shen Yiwen

2012-13 AND **2013-14 SEASONS**

[no Composer Institute due to lockout]

2014-15 SEASON

Kati Agócs Eugene Birman Texu Kim Loren Loiacono Evan Meier Matthew Peterson Michael Schachter

2015-16 SEASON

Kirsten Broberg Matthew Browne Joshua Cerdnia **Emily Cooley** Nick DiBerardino Michael Gilbertson Anthony Vine

2016-17 SEASON

Katherine Balch Michael Boyman Judy Bozone Michael-Thomas Foumai Tonia Ko Phil Taylor Conrad Winslow

2017-18 SEASON

Saad Haddad Andrew Hsu Charles Peck Hilary Purrington **Daniel Schlosberg** Peter S. Shin Nina C. Young

2018-19 SEASON

TJ Cole Viet Cuong Jonathan Cziner Will Healy Matthew Ricketts Connor Elias Way Alyssa Weinberg

2019-20 SEASON

Theo Chandler Paul Frucht Clare Glackin Marc Migó Patrick O'Malley Liza Sobel Nicky Sohn

2020-21 SEASON

[no Composer Institute due to the COVID-19 pandemic]

2021-22 SEASON

Henry Dorn Adeliia Faizullina Bobby Ge Ryan Lindveit Molly Joyce Nina Shekhar Sam Wu