INSPIRATION AND TRANSFORMATION:

Swan Lake's Odette&
Odile



NEW YORK CITY BALLET | 2022 ANNUAL LUNCHEON









From top left: George Balanchine rehearsing Swan Lake onstage; Suzanne Farrell and Jacques d'Amboise rehearsing Swan Lake; Kay Mazzo and Adam Luders performing in NYCB's 1976 production of Swan Lake;

NYCB Principal Dancer Sara Mearns performing in the role of Odette.

This year's program, *Inspiration and Transformation: Swan Lake's Odette & Odile*, will explore how this iconic ballet has impacted generations of dancers, students, and audience members alike. Past and present NYCB artists will reflect on the rigorous preparation that goes into the virtuosic role of Odette/Odile and the artistic range that the ballet requires of all dancers. The story has dazzled audiences around the world in countless theaters, classrooms, studios, and homes, from performances on our very own stage to students participating in our education and access programs.

Complemented by performance excerpts, demonstration, as well as interviews and personal stories, we hope you will join us for this intimate program as we take a deeper look into the transformative power of this timeless classic.

INSPIRATION AND TRANSFORMATION:

Swan Lake's

Odette & Odile

NEW YORK CITY BALLET | 2022 ANNUAL LUNCHEON Thursday, May 26, 2022

11:00 AM Onstage Program
12:30 PM Luncheon on the Promenade
David H. Koch Theater at Lincoln Center

EVENT CHAIRS

Kathryn Beal LeeAnn Black Lu Leng Chua Lauren Duff Heather Hoyt Georges Danielle Taubman Melissa Vlak

MODERATED BY Donya Archer Bommer

FEATURING

MEGAN FAIRCHILD MARIA KOWROSKI KAY MAZZO SARA MEARNS WENDY WHELAN

with excerpts performed by New York City Ballet Dancers

Cover image of Maria Tallchief in Swan Lake, 1960 © Jack Mitchell/Getty Images.

Rehearsal images: Balanchine rehearsal images and Mazzo/Luders performance image by Martha Swope ©

The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts; Mearns performance image © Paul Kolnik.



NEWYORKCITYBALLET

Please be advised that NEW YORK CITY BALLET

remains committed to the safety of our audiences.

Proof of full vaccination will be required of all attendees to enter the event.

Please note that further requirements, such as a negative PCR test within 72 hours of the event may be required.

Further details will be announced closer to the date, and we will strictly adhere to CDC and NYC health protocols in place at the time of the Annual Luncheon.

Please contact the NYCB Special Events office with questions and to confirm your reservation to specialevents@nycballet.com.

INSPIRATION AND TRANSFORMATION:

Swan Lake's dette & Odile

NEW YORK CITY BALLET | 2022 ANNUAL LUNCHEON

Thursday, May 26, 2022

CO-CHAIRS

Kathryn Beal Lauren Duff

LeeAnn Black Heather Hoyt Georges

Lu Leng Chua Danielle Taubman

Melissa Vlak

LEADERS

Emily and Len Blavatnik

Frank Richardson

Lesley Stahl and Aaron Latham

Diana L. Taylor

BENEFACTORS

Kristin Kennedy Clark Maureen Footer

PATRONS

Donya Archer Bommer Jonna Mackin

> Barbara Evans Teneo

SUPPORTERS

Rick Beinecke Edward and Caroline

Hvman

Franci Blassberg and Joe Rice Stephen Kroll Reidy

Barry Friedberg and Mr. and Mrs. Andrew M. Charlotte Moss

Saul

FRIENDS

Angel Shine Foundation Laura McVey

/ Allyson Tang and Thomas Widmann[†] Karen and Tommy Murphy

Angela Clofine Annie Nugent

Deborah Edell Julie Ratesic/

Karin Day Kingsley Goldman Sachs Gives

Nancy MacMillan Kristin Willard Ursano

> John and Barbara Vogelstein

BENEFIT COMMITTEE

Elysabeth Kleinhans Pamela Abernathy Judith Moomjian

Claire Svetlik Mann

Maria-Cristina Anzola Patricia D. Klingenstein Marie Nugent-Head

Roger A. Kluge Emily M. Berger Patricia Dugan Perlmuth in memory of William A. Perlmuth Susan Campbell Harold Koda

and Alan Kornberg Melissa Crandall Linda and Winfield Perry

Rachel Kort Sasha Cutter Hsu Dr. Barbara Ritchin

Leslie B. Littlejohn Virginia Gold Fran Schulman

Laura Lobdell Susan Gutfreund Jennifer Sheehan Stephanie Lofgren

Melanie C. Harris Aneesa Sheikh and Craig H. Stinebaugh

The Honorable and Thomas J. Moloney Mrs. Earle I. Mack Barbara Madsen Smith

Molly K. Heines and

Deborah Karl

Ketchum

Huguette Hersch Heidi and Bo Bonnie and Tom Strauss Magnussen Tania Higgins

Dr. Jephtha Tausig Lisa McDonald Judith M. Hoffman Barbara Tober Mark and

Robyn Lane Joseph Dianne Melodia Catherine H. Tompkins

Amy Kaprow Mezey William H. Wright II Mrs. Stephen J. Virginia A. Millhiser

Jenny Slayton-Green