Presidents and Chairmen



For the first 25 years the New York Philharmonic, organized as a cooperative society, was managed by the musicians themselves. From 1865 to 1909, the musicians chose a president who was not a member of the orchestra but rather a distinguished, music-loving member of New York society and great supporter of the Philharmonic. In 1909, the cooperative system was replaced by a Board of Directors which at first included musicians from the Orchestra. At this point the players became contracted workers of the society.

PRESIDENTS

Ureli Corelli Hill	1842-1847
Henry C. Timm	1847–1863
William Scharfenberg	1863-1867
Robert Ogden Doremus	1867–1870
George Templeton Strong	1870-1874
Henry G. Stebbins	1874–1875
Edmund H. Schermerhorn	1875–1879
Julius Hallgarten	1879–1881
Josef W. Drexel	1881-1888
E. Francis Hyde Esq.	1888-1901

[1000 1011]
[1909–1911]
1911–1913
[1913–1916]
1916–1918
1919–1922
1922–1928
1928-1934
1934-1946
1946-1950
1950-1956
1956-1963
1963-1970
1970-1978
1978–1981
1981–1984

Stephen Stamas	1984-1989
Frederick Krimendahl	1989-1996
N/A	[1996–2004]
Zarin Mehta	2004-2012
Matthew VanBiesen	2013-2017
Deborah Borda	2017-

CHAIRMEN

Clarence H. Mackay	1921–1938
Marshall Field	1939–1945
Charles Triller	1945–1951
N/A	[1951–1956]
Floyd G. Blair	1956–1958
Arthur A. Houghton, Jr.	1958-1963
David M. Keiser	1963-1970
Amyas Ames	1970-1983
Carlos Moseley	1983-1985
N/A	[1985-1989]

Stephen Stamas	1989–1996
Paul Guenther	1996-2009
Gary Parr	2009-2014
Oscar S. Schafer	2014-2019
Peter W. May	2019-
Oscar L. Tang	2019-