

2017 NCAA DIVISION II WOMEN'S BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP FIELD SET

Ohio's Ashland University (31-0) Ranked No. 1, Hosting Regional for Chance to Play in Columbus Tickets On-Sale Now for Elite Eight, Final Four and Championship Games at Ohio Dominican

INDIANAPOLIS (March 5, 2017) - The NCAA Division II Women's Basketball Committee <u>announced the field of 64 teams</u> on Sunday that will compete in the 2017 NCAA Division II Women's Basketball Championship. Twenty-four conferences have been awarded automatic qualification. The remaining 40 teams were selected at large by the committee. Eight eight-team regionals will be played at on-campus sites March 10, 11 and 13. The eight regional champions advancing to the Women's Elite Eight will be seeded by the Women's Basketball Committee after completion of the regionals.

The 2017 NCAA Division II Women's Elite Eight will be held at Alumni Hall in Columbus, Ohio, March 21, 22 and 24. Ohio Dominican University and the Greater Columbus Sports Commission will serve as hosts. Tickets are on sale now for all three rounds at http://ohiodominicantickets.universitytickets.com.

The national quarterfinal games will begin at noon, 2:30 p.m. and 6:00 p.m. and 8:30 p.m. on Tuesday, March 21. The semifinal contests will be at 6 and 8:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 22 and broadcast on CBS Sports Network. The championship game will be at 7 p.m. on Friday, March 24, and also air on CBS Sports Network.

For the fourth time in six years, Ashland University's women's basketball team has earned the right to play host to the NCAA Division II Midwest Regional tournament. The No. 1-ranked Eagles (31-0) will be the top seed and the host for the Midwest Regional, set for Friday (March 10), Saturday (March 11) and Monday, March 13.

Conferences that received automatic qualification are as follows:

CONFERENCE	SCHOOL
California Collegiate Athletics Association	Cal State East Bay
Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference	University of the Sciences
Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association	Johnson C. Smith
Conference Carolinas	King (Tennessee)
East Coast Conference	Molloy
Great American Conference	Harding
Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference	Ashland
Great Lakes Valley Conference	Drury
Great Midwest Athletic Conference	Malone
Great Northwest Athletic Conference	Alaska Anchorage

Gulf South Conference	Valdosta State
Heartland Conference	St. Edward's
Lone Star Conference	Tarleton State
Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association	Emporia State
Mountain East Conference	Wheeling Jesuit
Northeast-10 Conference	Adelphi
Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference	Northern State
Pacific West Conference	California Baptist
Peach Belt Conference	Columbus State
Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference	Indiana (Pennsylvania)
Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference	Colorado-Colorado Springs
South Atlantic Conference	Wingate
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference	Benedict
Sunshine State Conference	Eckerd
Those institutions receiving at-large berths are:	
Western Washington	UC San Diego
Simon Fraser	Point Loma

Those	institutions	receiving at-	large	berths are:
111000	IIIOCICACIOIIO	I CCCI VIII G CC		Der are

Simon Fraser	Point Loma
Hawaii Pacific	Angelo State
West Texas A&M	Regis (Colorado)
Eastern New Mexico	Colorado State Pueblo
Queens (New York)	Bentley
Caldwell	Assumption
New York Institute of Technology	California (Pennsylvania)
Virginia Union	Shippensburg
Mercyhurst	Glenville State
West Florida	Florida Southern
Rollins	Nova Southeastern
Lee	MSU Moorhead
Central Oklahoma	Pittsburg State
Central Missouri	Arkansas Tech
Saginaw Valley State	Ursuline
Grand Valley State	Bellarmine
Lewis	

CONTACTS:

Scott Miles | Ohio Dominican University | 614-251-4577 | miless@ohiodominican.edu

Bruce Wimbish | Greater Columbus Sports Commission | 614-221-6178 | bwimbish@columbussports.org

Rick Nixon | National Collegiate Athletic Association | 317-917-6539 | rnixon@ncaa.org