

## 2017 NCAA DIVISION II WOMEN'S BASKETBALL ELITE EIGHT FIELD SET FOR COLUMBUS

*Ohio's Ashland University (34-0) Ranked No. 1 Nationally to Compete for Title in Columbus Tickets On-Sale Now for Elite Eight, Final Four and Championship Games at Ohio Dominican* 

**COLUMBUS (March 14, 2017)** – On Monday, the eight regional champions that will compete in the 2017 NCAA Division II Women's Elite Eight 2017 NCAA Division II Women's Basketball Championship stamped their tickets for Columbus. The will be held at Alumni Hall in Columbus, Ohio, March 21, 22 and 24.

Ohio Dominican University and the Greater Columbus Sports Commission will serve as hosts. Tickets are on sale now for all three rounds at <u>http://ohiodominicantickets.universitytickets.com</u>. The eight regional champions advancing to the Women's Elite Eight were re-seeded by the Women's Basketball Committee after completion of the regionals.

The national quarterfinal games at Ohio Dominican will be:

- #3 Columbus State (GA) (31-1) vs. #6 Virginia Union (26-4) | 12:00 p.m.
- #2 Cal Baptist (34-2) vs. vs. #7 West Florida (28-6) | 2:30 p.m.
- **#1 Ashland (OH) (34-0)** vs. **#8** West Texas A&M (26-8) | 6:00 p.m.
- #4 Harding (30-3) vs. #5 Queens (N.Y.) (27-4) | 8:30 p.m.

The semifinal contests will be at 6 and 8:30 p.m. on Wednesday, March 22 and broadcast on CBS Sports Network. The championship game will be at 7 p.m. on Friday, March 24, and also air on CBS Sports Network.

## Media interested in covering the national quarterfinal, semifinal and championship rounds can request credentials at <u>https://clients.sportssystems.com/clients/ncaa/winter-media/</u>.

Ohio's Ashland University will look to win its second NCAA national championship in five years in Columbus after winning the Division II women's basketball title in 2013. The Eagles were the national runner-up in 2012. The program won its third Midwest Regional title in the last six seasons this past Monday, 74-62, over Drury. Ashland's all-time postseason winning percentage of .783 (18-5) is tied for the best in D-II history with North Dakota State (47-13) among programs with at least 20 games played.

Columbus was awarded this NCAA championship event for the first time in 2013. It will continue a historic stretch with the NCAA as until 2016, no city had hosted all three divisions (Division I, II and III) of the women's basketball championship consecutively. Capital University hosted the 2016 NCAA Division III Women's Basketball national semifinals at The Capital Center and The Ohio State University will host the 2018 NCAA Women's Final Four at Nationwide Arena in 2018.

## **CONTACTS:**

Scott Miles | Ohio Dominican University | 614-251-4577 | miless@ohiodominican.edu Bruce Wimbish | Greater Columbus Sports Commission | 614-221-6178 | bwimbish@columbussports.org Laura Brown | Greater Columbus Sports Commission | 614-643-6380 | lbrown@columbussports.org