



# Policy Committee Meeting Tuesday, February 13, 2018 Minutes

The Policy Committee Meeting of the Board of Directors of the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority (LVCVA) was held on February 13, 2018, at the Las Vegas Convention Center, 3150 Paradise Road, Las Vegas, Nevada 89109. This meeting was properly noticed and posted in compliance with the Nevada Open Meeting Law.

# **Policy Committee Members:**

Present unless otherwise noted

Mayor Carolyn Goodman.....via telephone
Mayor Pro Tem Peggy Leavitt
Mr. Gregory Lee
Mayor John Lee
Mr. Bill Noonan

Councilman George Rapson.....via telephone

Rossi Ralenkotter, CEO Steve Hill, President/COO

Luke Puschnig, Esq., CEM, Legal Counsel

LVCVA Executive Staff in Attendance Ed Finger, Chief Financial Officer

Barbara Bolender, Chief People Officer

Jacqueline Peterson, Chief Communications & Public Affairs Officer

Cathy Tull. Chief Marketing Officer

Terry Jicinsky, Senior Vice President of Operations

## **OPENING CEREMONIES**

Former Chair John Lee called the meeting to order at 8:01 a.m.

**FLAG SALUTE** The Pledge of Allegiance was performed.

# **COMMENTS FROM THE FLOOR BY THE PUBLIC**

There were no comments from the floor by the public.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA & MINUTES Member Bill Noonan moved and it was carried by unanimous vote of the voting members present, including Members Carolyn Goodman and George Rapson via telephone, to approve the February 13, 2018, Policy Committee Meeting agenda and the Minutes from the November 6, 2017, and November 14, 2017, Policy Committee Meetings.

### STAFF REPORTS - DISCUSSION AND POSSIBLE ACTION

#### ITEM A. Policy Committee Officers and Charter

Luke Puschnig, Legal Counsel, recommended that the Policy Committee of the Board of Directors nominate and elect a Committee Chair and Vice Chair and adopt the Policy Committee Charter as presented.

Former Chair John Lee stated that he would like to step down from the position of Chair of the Policy Committee and nominated Member Peggy Leavitt as Chair of the Policy Committee.

Former Chair John Lee moved and it was carried by unanimous vote of the voting members present, including Members Carolyn Goodman and George Rapson via telephone, to elect Member Peggy Leavitt as Chair of the Policy Committee.

Member Bill Noonan nominated Member George Rapson for the position of Vice Chair of the Policy Committee.

Member Bill Noonan moved and it was carried by unanimous vote of the voting members present, including Members Carolyn Goodman and George Rapson via telephone, to elect Member George Rapson as Vice Chair of the Policy Committee.

Former Chair Lee welcomed Member Rapson as Vice Chair.

Member Gregory Lee moved and it was carried by unanimous vote of the voting members present, including Members Carolyn Goodman and George Rapson via telephone, to adopt the new and modified Policy Committee Charter.

#### **SET NEXT MEETING DATE**

The next meeting will be at the call of the Chair.

#### **DIRECTORS' RECOGNITION**

Member George Rapson thanked the Committee for their nominations.

## **COMMENTS FROM THE FLOOR BY THE PUBLIC**

There were no comments from the floor by the public.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Former Chair John Lee adjourned the meeting at 8:06 a.m.

| Respectfully submitted,                               | Date Approved: <u>TBD</u>                          |
|---|--|
| Christal Harrison Assistant to the Board of Directors | Mayor Pro Tem Peggy Leavitt Policy Committee Chair |